Anyone Have a Spare Time-Turner?

School is almost out for the summer, which means I’m about to transform from being an almost-full-time writer and part-time mom, into a full-time-mom who squeezes in writing whenever she can.

I was originally hoping to rush through the first draft on this YA Fantasy, so my summer months could double as my time away from the manuscript, leaving me with fresh eyes ready to revise in September…but it looks like that’s not going to happen.

Last week I got a detailed edit letter back from Bri’s assistant on my YA Contemporary. At first I was disappointed, because I’d thought it was ready to go on sub. But obviously I want to have the strongest possible story to send to editors, and I love the changes I’ve made so far, so it’s all good.

But it has meant putting aside my WIP, at least until these revisions are done.

My new goal is to complete these revisions before school lets out, and then I can try and squeeze in some drafting over the summer, early in the mornings, or during the week the kids are at camp.

So far, the revisions are going well, but honestly, there are just not enough hours in a day (especially since I’ve still got mom-duties like taking kids to doctor’s appointments, or going to school functions, or feeding my family to work around, as well). So, if any of you has a Time-Turner you’re willing to lend out, I’d be very thankful.

Since you probably don’t, I’m going to cut my post short this week, so I can get back to revising.

*PS for anyone wondering, my 6yo has made a complete recovery from his concussion.

4 comments

  1. Sounds like your writing life is like mine but I am still at the step of trying to get an agent. Only two fulllbwriting days before school is out and then summer. Good luck with your writing. Glad your child has recovered.

  2. Hey K! Funny, as a full time teacher, and a mother of two, summer is the opposite for me. I’ve been looking forward to it for months so I can get more writing done. My plan is to ignore the kids in the morning and take them to the beach in the afternoon. I have got to hold on to the dream! Good luck on your revisions!

    • Nice. Yeah, I can try and squeeze in some writing over the summer, but the odds of the kids leaving me alone for long enough to get anything actually done are slim (I think mine are just that much younger than yours). Usually I try to save the summer for revising first drafts, because I can do it in little bits, (as opposed to drafting, which I prefer to do in longer stretches). Good luck with your summer writing plans!

Leave a Reply

