When Work is Like a Game of Twister

As you probably already know, I am an almost-full-time writer/stay-at-home mom: “almost-full-time”, because being a stay-at-home mom can definitely eat into writing time some weeks.

This has been one of those weeks. (And so was last week. Sigh.)

Between doctor’s appointments for me and one of my kids, sick days, a need for school volunteers, a crush of neglected chores and errands, plus a poorly-timed PA (PD?) day, I haven’t had much time for writing.

Fortunately, I’m still in the plotting stage of my current book, which is good, because I find I can’t put as many solid hours into plotting as I can when drafting. Not to mention, for me, plotting involves a lot of day-dreaming to figure out sticky little issues, which is something I can do while folding laundry or lying in a dentist’s chair.

But for the times I’ve actually needed to be at the computer/my notebook, I’ve had to squeeze it in, bending and twisting my schedule around to find the time. On a normal (deadline-free) week, I only write Monday to Friday, while the kids are at school. But the last two weeks I’ve been getting up at five a.m. all seven days to get at least an hour of plotting in (plus some social media & coffee time) before everyone is up and demanding breakfast, scribbling notes while dinner cooks, and generally grabbing any quiet moment to sit and plot.

And it’s worked.

By the time my work week starts up again on Tuesday (it’s a holiday here on Monday), I should be able to start drafting a new YA Fantasy. Yay! I’m really excited to get writing, already loving my two main characters, and their world. And considering how many pages of notes I have (roughly 40 handwritten, lined notebook pages), I don’t think I’ll be falling short on this draft’s length.

Well, that’s all the time I can squeeze in for writing right now. Hope you had as productive a week as I did.

 

Leave a Reply

