FUN WITH FROSTING Turns 1!

It’s hard to believe, but Fun with Frosting has been out for a whole year now! Thanks to that book, I’ve done two signings (not counting my book launch), two TV appearances, and baked more cakes than I can count. It’s been an exciting, fun, and delicious year.

Over the last year, I think the question I’ve heard the most is: How’s the book doing? And it’s a tricky one to answer.

When the book first came out, I checked my Amazon rankings (Canadian and American) obsessively – but all that tells me is how the book is selling compared to all the other books at that moment in time. Not that that’s a bad thing. You can bet I celebrated the hour or so I had the #1 book in Cookbooks > Baking > Cakes in Canada.

I won’t lie, seeing it hit that rank was awesome. But it was also the peak. And no amount of obsessive rank-checking was going to help my sales, so I had to stop and focus my energy on more productive things, like writing.

So, I don’t really check my rankings very often, and actual numbers are hard to come by, so mostly I just shrug and say, it’s still in stores, which is good. (Let’s face it, I didn’t become a writer because of my love of numbers.)

But I also haven’t been promoting it as much as I could have, so consider this my promo post. For those of you who don’t know, Fun with Frosting: A Beginner’s Guide to Creative, Fondant-Free Cakes is an instructional book for beginner bakers of all ages, covering the basics of baking, assembling, and decorating, as well as step-by-step instructions for 40 fun, kid-friendly designs.

It is available at Amazon (US), Amazon.ca, Chapters, B&N, and via Indiebound.

And if you buy a copy in the next month (before May 19/17) and send me proof + your address via the handy little Contact Me form on this site, I’ll mail out a signed bookplate as a special Bookaversary gift to you.

 

Leave a Reply

