The Perils of Drafting

I’m just about done this round of revisions for Bri on my YA Contemporary, which means with her approval and a little luck, hopefully it’ll be out on sub sometime in the near-ish future. (Yay!)

Of course, that means it’s time to go back to one of my less favourite parts of writing: drafting. It’s slow, it’s messy, the characters don’t always do what you want them to do (even with an outline), and drafts don’t sound anywhere near as nice as finished books, so it’s really easy to get discouraged.

I’ve had a lot of trouble with drafting over the last few months. I’ve written a full YA, and more than 20,000 words in three separate MG attempts – none of which will ever likely make it beyond my computer. Each of those drafts has had glaring problems – problems I’ve been able to identify, but not fix.

And yet each of these failed attempts has made me a stronger writer. (I know they’re not really “failures.” At worst, they’re writing practice, at best, they’ll sit on my computer until one day I figure out how to make them work.)

Until then, it’s back to the drawing board. Looks like I’m going for attempt #4 at an MG, a contemporary this time (since my YA Contemporary is still so fresh in my mind). I still have some more outlining to do, but I hope to have it written by the end of May (depending, of course, on any other revisions that come in and take precedence). Moreover, I plan to finish this draft, all the way through to the end, and hope that I can fix any glaring problems in revision.

We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

