New Year, New Start

winter-wonderland

Hurray! The dumpster fire which was 2016 is finally over. Long live 2017!

Okay, I know it’s not that simple. 2016 set a number of things in motion that may make this year even worse than the last one (say it isn’t so!), but for now, I’m determined to focus on the positives. In fact, that’s about the only New Year’s Resolution I have this year. A friend gave me a journal for Christmas, and I plan to use it sort of like a bullet journal, and to make sure I record at least one good thing that happens every day.

The reason that’s my only one is that I don’t usually do the whole “resolution” thing (the last one I made 12 years ago didn’t even make it until midnight). But the changing of the calendar seems like a good time to set out some writing goals*, so here we go:

  1.  Write 2 new stories: I don’t care if they’re novels or picture books, I want to write at least 2 new works this year.
  2. Get *something* out on sub. Anything.
  3.  Get back into social media. Being sick for most of December seriously affected my blog post quality and my Twitter quantity. I’m hoping a healthier January can get me back into the swing of things.
  4.  Start critiquing again. Back in October I took what was supposed to be a month-long hiatus from my critique groups, but thanks to other commitments and the plague (okay, flu/bronchitis/chest infection/whatever it was) it’s stretched into three months, and it’s really time to get back in the game.
  5. Read! I’m off to a good start on this one, thanks to still being in recovery mode: I’ve read 6 books in the last 6 days! I know I won’t be able to keep up this pace for the whole year, but at least I feel like I’m accomplishing something. Bonus: all this reading has really got my creative juices flowing, and I’ve been brainstorming away.

Right, I think that’s a good list to be going on with. What are your (not) resolutions for this year? Let me know in the comments.

*As always, I’m restricting my goals to things I have control over, so I’m not putting things like “Getting a contract” or “Hitting 600 followers on Twitter” because I can’t control whether or not I manage those, all I can do is take steps to try and accomplish those.

Leave a Reply

