Ghoulie the Ghostie (Halloweensie Contest)

Every few months the fabulous Susanna Leonard Hill runs a mini writing contest on her blog. I don’t always have the time/inspiration to come up with an entry, but given how much I love Halloween, I just couldn’t resist this year. The challenge was to come up with a kids’ Halloween story in under 100 words, including the words (or variations of) spider, ghost, and moon. Contest details are available on her blog, and be sure to check out the other entries (links at the bottom of her post). Happy Halloween, everyone!

pumpkins

Ghoulie the Ghostie (98 words)

Ghoulie the ghostie

Was a spooky, howling soul,

With a moonlit glare, spiders in her hair, and

Two eyes as dark as coal.

 

Ghoulie the ghostie

Is a ghost story they say,

But on Halloween all the kids have seen

The terrifying games she plays.

 

There must have been some magic

In that beat up pillowcase

For when they placed it in her hands,

She stopped her haunting chase.

 

Down to the village

The big bag in her hands, she

Flew up and down the street shouting, “Trick or Treat!”

‘Cause scaring’s less fun than candy!

 

13 comments

  1. Hello K…what fun to meet you…it’s one of the best things about Susanna’s contests…we all get to hop around and connect with new writer friends.
    I love your story…a tfresh ake on the Frosty the Snowman theme, right? Very cool…and I wonder if she’ll share any of the candy with me. 😉 Good thing I don’t have little ones at home anymore…I used to gain 5 pounds after Halloween, eating up their stuff to protect them from getting cavities. 🙂

    • Thanks, Vivian. Yeah, it always great to meet fellow writers! And, yep, it’s a new version of Frosty. As for the candy…we bought chips this year, because I thought I’d have more self control, but apparently All Dressed is my kryptonite. Pretty sure there won’t be any of those left by Monday. :/

  2. We’ve got a neighborhood full of kids (100+ trick-or-treaters last year) and now I have to feed the ghosts, too! LOL. (Nice to meet you!)

  3. You had me singing right along with Frosty, Kaye! So clever and fun for Halloween! Love that Ghoulie found candy more fun than scaring – I have to agree 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in the Halloweensie fun! (And your book with Sky Horse looks awesome!)

Leave a Reply

