Keep on Swimming…I Mean, Writing

img_1395

As you may have picked up from previous posts, lately it has been a real struggle to get words down on the page (up on the screen?). I had hoped to blast through this YA draft in mock-NaNo style, to have 60,000 words after 30 days. I started writing on September 14th, and my goal was to be done by October 15th.

Spoiler alert: That didn’t happen.

As usual, life got in the way. Even setting myself generous bribes (a trip to the café for every 5000 words written, chocolate at home for every 2000) hasn’t been enough to motivate me most days.

It’s been almost six weeks, and I’m sitting at just over 25,000 words. Not even halfway there.

But the way I see it, I have a choice to make. I can say, “I’m not cut out for this writing-thing” and walk away and get a real job, OR, I can sit my butt in my chair everyday and force myself to come up with words, whether I feel like it or not.

Guess which one I’m going to choose?

(Spoiler alert: it’s the one where I’m writing!)

So, I’m going to sit and write. Every day. And if I only get 1000 words? Well, that’s 1000 more words than I had the day before. And I’m going to keep doing that until I have a finished draft to revise, because that, my friends, is where the real magic happens.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to see how many words I can get out today…I’m in the mood for some chocolate.

5 comments

  1. Maybe we need to motivate each other because I am in the same boat. I’ve got lots of ideas, but I’m having a hard time getting motivated.

Leave a Reply

