Flying Through Work

img_3165

I’ve only been back to writing almost-full-time for a week, but already things are moving along quickly.

Bri has asked me to send her my new picture books ASAP, in the hopes we can get one on sub sooner rather than later, so I’ve sent them off to two last crit partners for a final polish. You can all keep your fingers crossed that one of these shiny new stories will pass muster and be on their way to a publisher’s inbox soon.

As well, I have the last chapter of my YA out with another critique group. I’ve been revising heavily as I go, so it should be ready to send to Bri sometime in the next week as well. Of course, that’s just the first step for that story: assuming Bri likes it, it’ll take a few months for her to read and give me notes on it, and another month or so of revisions on my part, add a lather, rinse, repeat, and my YA likely won’t be going out to publishers before Christmas. (Have I mentioned the worst thing about this industry is the waiting? Because the worst thing about this industry is totally the waiting.)

Not to worry, though, I have lots to keep me busy. My new YA is just about plotted, and I’ve already started my descent into the rabbit hole known as drafting.  It’s been so long since I started a new draft (not counting PBs), I don’t even have words for how good it feels to be writing new material again. I may only have 500 words so far, but I’ll take them!

Well, that’s how work is going for me. What about you? Started any new projects (writing or otherwise)? Finished any? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Flying Through Work

  1. Glad to hear of your progress. A few weeks ago, I signed a contract for my adult romance (Red Adept Publishing) and last week, I sent my next book in the series (Tuned Into You 2) to BookFish. Fingers crossed they like that one. I’ve got another YA and another adult getting close to completion.

Leave a Reply

