Book Signing Fun

Signing Photo

This past weekend I had the pleasure of doing a book signing at Chapters Yonge & Eglinton in Toronto. It was my first just-signing (I did a demo and signing back in May in Ottawa) and it was lots of fun.

The staff were wonderful and helpful, especially Maria, who gave me lots of great tips on making myself noticeable and kept sending prospective readers my way. And, of course, my childhood friend Christie, one of the managers there, who helped organize the whole thing.

It was a quiet day in the store, but I had a few great conversations about baking, helped a girl with allergies find a few work-arounds, and talked to a fellow aspiring children’s fiction author about the comparative merits of SCBWI and CANSCAIP.

Even better, I had a few old friends show up and keep me company, including one who would randomly flip to a page in her copy of my book as people walked by and ooh and ahh over designs. Gotta love supportive friends!

At the end, I signed the remaining copies in the store, so if you’re in the Toronto area and looking for a signed copy, head over to the Yonge & Eglinton Chapters. After all, it’s never too early to start your holiday shopping (yes, I have already started – I am totally one of *those* people).

Hope your week has been as exciting as mine!

3 comments

  1. Looks like you had a great time. I had my first book signing this past weekend too! It was fun and scary at the same time.

    • Agreed. I’m pretty outgoing when I want to be, but it gets discouraging when people all but cover their eyes and run in the opposite direction 😛 But actually getting to talk to people about cakes and baking made it all worthwhile. (Also, selling some books).

Leave a Reply

