Ambitious or Just Ridiculous?

And speaking of ridiculous, have a parrot pushing a baby carriage.
And speaking of ridiculous, have a parrot pushing a baby carriage.

For the past two weeks (seriously, has it only been two weeks? Eep!) I’ve had to put my writing on hold as I re-assumed my job as a Full Time Mom for the summer. I’ve still been squeezing in critiques, but otherwise writing has pretty much been a no-go.

But this week (I’m writing this early) all three kids will be going to day camp, and my time will be my own. Sort of. I actually have a ton of household-y type things to do that have to be done sans kids (like painting the upstairs hallway, painting the downstairs hallway, ridding the house of no-longer-played-with-toys, etc.)

And I still have to squeeze in crits and keep on top of my YA WIP (revising as crits come in). But, since I’ve been struggling so much with picture books lately, I decided to issue myself a challenge: write one new PB draft a day for the 5 days of camp.

You see, I have a whole spreadsheet of ideas, but I never seem to get around to writing them. And PBs have been positively stumping me lately. Don’t let their length fool you – they are hard to write. (Okay, actually they are easy to write. GOOD picture books, on the other hand, ones that are marketable, and fresh, and amusing, with memorable characters and interesting stories, that kids and adults will want to read over and over again, all in under 500 words with lots of room for illustrations? – *they* are hard to write.)

Hopefully by the end of this week I will have five new starting drafts. It’s probably an impossible challenge (especially with what else is on my plate right now), but even if I only get one done, I’ll still be ahead of where I was at the start of the week.

I’ll check in next week and let you know how my challenge went.

What about you? Do you set unreasonable writing goals for yourself? Want to join me in my PB-a-Day mini challenge? Let me know in the comments!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

