Oops-a-daisy!

Cutie Bug Cake

Want to know what the worst feeling in the world is as an author?

No, it’s not a bad review. It’s discovering a mistake in your book. And not a little mistake, like a misspelled word resulting from a typo, but a bit, fat error in my Fudgy Chocolate Frosting that would make the recipe an utter disaster to make.

I can tell you, I yelled out loud when I saw it (not a nice word, either, but fortunately my kids were too busy assembling birthday lego to notice). Then I just wanted to curl up in a ball and hide.

Instead, I did the mature thing and emailed my editor, and now I’m posting the amended recipe here and on my Cakey Goodness page.

I’m really, really sorry if you tried to make this as is. It looks like I read down a line while transcribing it for the book, and skipped the amount of cocoa (seriously how can you have fudgy frosting without chocolate?) – and then none of us noticed it while proofreading. The good news is we know now, and if we go into a second printing, it will be fixed. Until then, please use the recipe below:

Fudgy Chocolate Frosting:

½ cup butter or margarine, melted

½ tsp vanilla extract

⅓ cup cocoa

2-4 Tbsps water

3 cups confectioner’s/powdered/icing sugar

Mix together melted butter, vanilla, and water. Stir in cocoa and sugar.

 

So there you go. Hope you enjoy this recipe, and sorry for the mistake. On the bright side, I feel like I redeemed myself with my appearance on CTV Morning Live in Ottawa this week. You can check it out here to judge for yourself, while I go drown my embarrassment in something chocolatey.

Leave a Reply

