Thank You

IMG_1992It has been such a whirlwind getting Fun with Frosting out into stores, and I just want to say, thank you. Thank you to everyone who’s supported me, in person and online. Thank you to everyone who bought a book, or requested a copy at the library, or mentioned it to their friends! And thank you to all my lovely social media followers for putting up with more than a few self-promoting posts over the past few weeks. Thank you.

If it wasn’t for you guys, I would not have this story to tell:

I don’t want to become one of those people who obsesses over their book’s sales. But. On Friday my husband decided to check out how I was doing on Amazon.ca. I was #127 in Cake Books – which I thought was amazing. The next morning, I noticed he’d left the window open on the laptop, so I refreshed, and this is what I saw:

Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #6,324 in Books

Saturday April 16/16, 7:22am
After I stopped hyperventilating, I ran around squeeing all over the house (not as messy as it sounds, I promise) and social media.
Of course, within a few hours the ranking had fallen again (welcome to the vast mysteries of the Amazon algorithms), but for a few precious moments there, I was in the Top 5 under cake books. I vowed I would stop checking, because I’d never beat that.
And then, the night before my book officially launched, my husband checked the stats again and found this:
Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,206 in Books

Aaaaah!!!!!!

Needless to say, I freaked out. Again.

Also again, that ranking only lasted for a few minutes, but for those few minutes I was the top-selling cake book on Amazon.ca. Crazy.

So, thank you. It may have only lasted a short time, but it made me incredibly happy.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to celebrate with (what else?) a slice of cake!
PS. If you’re in the Ottawa area, be sure to tune in to CTV Morning Live on Tuesday around 9am to see me demonstrating some more cake decorating techniques from Fun with Frosting.
Leave a Reply

