Newsletters: A Writer’s Best Friend

IMG_1207

If you read last week’s blog post, you saw me write about getting help (and homework) from a social media expert. You probably also saw me link to sign up for a newsletter. The two things are not unrelated.

Newsletters are, according to my social media expert, a writer’s best friend. They provide a way for a writer to keep in touch directly with their fans, offering them extra bonus content that not just anyone has access to.

As well, newsletters put the writer in control of their contacts. After all, if WordPress disappeared tomorrow, how would I be able to contact all you lovely readers? Short answer, I wouldn’t. But if I have your email addy, then I can reach you, no matter what happens to Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or WordPress.

So, how will my newsletter be different from my blog posts? Well, right now I blog weekly about my writing journey – writing tips, things I’ve learned, and generally what’s going on with me as a writer. And that’s not going to change.

My newsletter will be a monthly (ish) email with book-related bonus content: cake designs, flash-fiction, behind-the-scenes book tidbits, and maybe even a story-inspired recipe or two – plus the link to my Cakey Goodness page (which you may have noticed is no longer available on the blog menu). This month’s newsletter features step-by-step instructions for Cutie Cat and Paw Print cupcakes. Perhaps in the future I’ll even have some special giveaways or bonus offers for newsletter subscribers only!

What won’t my newsletter be? A constant stream of demands for you to buy my book(s – I’m optimistic).  While I may occasionally include a reminder the month something happens (expect April’s newsletter to mention the day FUN WITH FROSTING hits stores), I’m not going to pester you with ads for my book, because all that would do is drive you away. And, of course, I’m not going to give or sell your address to anyone, and you can unsubscribe anytime.

So, if you’re interested in bonus content, sign up using the form below (you’ll notice I didn’t make it one of those annoying pop-ups, because they’re one of my personal pet peeves – right up there with filter words! – and the last thing I want to do is annoy you guys). Also, while the sign up form will stay on my home page, I won’t keep blogging about it here.

*edited March 1 2016*

Okay, it looks like the form didn’t embed properly (have I mentioned how not tech-savvy I am?) so if you want to sign up for my newsletter, please click here. I’ve added this link to my homepage as well, so hopefully everything works. If you still can’t sign up, please let me know via the comment form or on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

