Why I Love Deadlines

 

IMG_0761Since the end of Christmas break, I have been working on revising my YA Contemporary. It’s a story I love, and believe in, and (so far, at least) has received mostly positive feedback from my crit group.

And yet, as the days turn into weeks, I’m finding it harder and harder to sit down and work on it.

There are lots of little stumbling blocks in my way: mild health issues, insomnia, and the not-so-little fact that my MC’s personal struggles mirror some of my own, making the novel emotionally taxing at times.

But none of these problems are going away any time soon.

And then there’s the lack of a deadline…

The way my online crit group works, it’s going to be several months before I finish getting this story critiqued. So long as I stay a chapter ahead of what’s up for crit, I’m good. And knowing that is wrecking my concentration.

You see, I actually love deadlines. I work really well knowing there’s a ticking clock in the background. It forces me to focus, plan my time, and (perhaps most importantly) not fritter away writing time on things like social media.

I did FUN WITH FROSTING in about 60 work days. That was a crazy tight deadline, but it really made me buckle down and focus.

When Bri asks for a revision, she almost never gives me a deadline – but I’ve learned to establish my own. Having a end date to strive for makes me work harder and smarter (plus a bonus of making my own deadlines, is not having anyone to complain when I miss them – my last revision to Bri came in 2 weeks later than I’d hoped, thanks to those above-mentioned health issues and insomnia).

So, I’ve decided to set my own deadline, and do my absolute best to enforce it. Even better, I’m going to post it here, so you can all help incentivize me to meet the goal. Here we go:

February 12th

the day before I leave on vacation, is my self-set deadline for getting this revision pass done. It’s a perfect date – not only is it a reasonable amount of time to finish this pass, it makes sense for scheduling, since once I come back from vacation, I’m going to have to enter full-n marketing mode (don’t worry, I won’t be spamming you guys with messages to buy my book, but I will be spending a lot of time researching blogs to request guest posts on, writing press releases, and setting up book signings) for FUN WITH FROSTING’s release.

I’ll check back in on the 11th and let you all know how I did.

What about you? Do you work better under pressure or get paralyzed by stress? Have a deadline you’d like to share as incentive? Tell me in the comments.

Writer @k_callard talks deadlines on her blog. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-fo (Click to tweet)

Do you work better under pressure, or get paralyzed by deadlines? @k_callard wants to know. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-fo (Click to tweet)

3 comments

Leave a Reply

