My Cake Book

Check it out! I have a cover!
Check it out! I have a cover!

This is likely my last real post of this year (yay, holidays!) and, in honour of that and finally being able to show off my shiny new cover, I thought I’d share the story of how FUN WITH FROSTING (aka my cake book) came to be.

It all started with a tweet.

Yep, if you’re an aspiring author and don’t have a Twitter account, I hope this post inspires you to take the plunge, because if I didn’t have a Twitter account, I wouldn’t have a book contract right now.

I also hope this post inspires you to go out and follow as many writing industry people as possible, since I only saw this tweet because it was retweeted by an agent I follow.

Where was I again? Right, the tweet. Here it is:

Nicole Frail@nfrail17 Jul 10

! I’m looking for a writer who does creative cake decorating. PM me to find out more (or if you know someone).

I thought, Hey, I’m a writer. I do creative cake decorating. (In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a master of the obvious.) So I replied:

KCallard@k_callard Jul 10

I’m a writer who does creative cake decorating. I blog more about writing than cake, though.

This was her response:

Nicole Frail@nfrail17 Jul 10

are you interested enough in both to want to write a how-to on cake decorating?

Now, at this point I still wasn’t too excited. Since she was looking for food bloggers, I got it in my head she was looking for a series of blog articles – which I felt more than capable of writing. I mean, before I had my boys, I was preparing to get certified as a cake decorating instructor (sadly the whole twin-pregnancy-and-babies-thing left me with no time or energy for teaching). So I asked for details.

While I was waiting for her to reply, I met with a writer-friend and told her about the tweets, saying I was all for writing a series of blog articles, but if she wanted a book…

“You will write the book,” she said.

That’s when I got excited.

Because she was right. I *could* write the book.

(By the way, if you’re an aspiring author and take anything else away from this story, it’s that you should make lots of writer-friends to encourage you when you’re doubting yourself.)

A few days later, Nicole emailed me the details. They were looking for a book, with at least 40 original designs, to be finished by November 1st. If I was interested, I needed to send in a proposal, with photos of my cakes – within the next two weeks.

I emailed Bri to check on her opinion, and while I waited, I started on the proposal and made a list of all my designs. By the time Bri answered to give me the okay, I already had half the proposal written (told you I was excited).

I baked up a batch of my signature mini monsters, photographed them, and wrote up the method. Once it was done I sent it Bri, who passed it on to Nicole, and, after a few weeks of waiting, they offered me the contract! Squee!

And that’s the story of how I came to write the cake book.

Oh, and did I mention Nicole’s tweet came the day before my birthday? Talk about things being meant to be…

Check out the cover for @k_callard ‘s FUN WITH FROSTING + the story of how the book came to be. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-ex (Click to tweet)

6 thoughts on “My Cake Book

  1. K., As always, your posts are immensely inspiring. I joined Twitter only recently (after swearing I never would) because I heard it was a great way to see what agents are looking for, see what’s hot in different genres (I’m writing YA) and to find out about contests. I did enter the #NOQS and made it to the agent round. While I haven’t gotten any offers for representation, I’m encouraged to keep writing. Thanks for all you do for all of us out here.

    1. Glad I could help. Congrats on making it to the agent round of #NOQS. Keep plugging away, listen to feedback, keep writing – it’ll happen eventually. One of my favourite sayings (I don’t know who said it) is “What do you call a writer who never gave up? Published.”

  2. Oh, and congratulations on your book! I will definitely buy a copy, as I can use all the help I can get when I’m in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

