Top 5 Things NaNo Winners Should Do

IMG_0879

As you know, if you follow this blog, my schedule didn’t let me do NaNoWriMo this year. But, since I have participated (and won) twice in previous years, I thought I’d offer my advice on what your next steps should be.

  1. Celebrate – go out for dinner, bake a cake, throw a party – do something to congratulate yourself. You just wrote 50,000 words (or more) of a novel and that is amazing!
  2. Catch up on the things you put aside in November – if you’re like me, winning probably meant making some sacrifices. Now’s the time to wash those baskets of laundry, do a decent grocery shop, and/or clean the house.
  3. Do some holiday shopping – hey, did you know it’s December? The winter holidays are suddenly so much closer than they were when you started writing, so you might want to get on that.
  4. Do some holiday baking – did I mention it’s December, now? Tis the season for shortbreads, and gingerbreads, and cranberry-lemon squares. Mmmmm…..
  5. Read up on revising – there are tons of great books and websites giving advise on how to revise your writing. Find them, and do your homework.
Did you notice what isn’t on the list? Working on your novel!

That’s right, I’m telling you to give your book a break. Taking time away from your work will let you see it with fresh eyes. It’s easy to fall in love with your own writing. You need to put some distance between yourself and work, so you can better see which parts just aren’t working. Take a break, and come back in January, with fresh eyes and new determination to make this novel the best it can be.

Curious about what your next steps should be in January? Check out parts one and two of my post “I Wrote a Book, Now What?”

What about you? How do you tackle revisions? Share your tips in the comments.

Writer @k_callard shares her December advice for NaNo winners. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-dH (Click to tweet)

One comment

Leave a Reply

