Feeling Thankful

My friend K.T.s turkey cupcake, based on the design from Whats New, Cupcake?
My friend K.T.s turkey cupcake, based on the design from Whats New, Cupcake? by Karen Tack & Alan Richardson

Okay, I confess, I’m Canadian, so my Thanksgiving Day is long over. Still, I thought I’d take today’s post to list five writing-related things I’m grateful for this year, in honour of my friends south of the 49th parallel.

  1. My health – my concussion recovery is a work-in-progress: I still can’t read at the end of the day, drive, or watch a movie on the big screen. But compared to where I was last year (unable to even look at the computer or tv, crippled with migraines, and spending most of my day sleeping – or at least lying in a dark room), I’ll take it. I’m well enough to write, even if I have to take breaks, and I’m back in my online critique group. And that’s good enough for now.
  2. Getting to be an almost-full-time writer – now that all my kids are in school, I’ve officially converted from Stay-at-Home Mom to Work-from-Home Writer (yay!). Even though we’ve had a fair number of sick days this year, I’m still getting lots done.
  3. My family – okay, I know I said this list would be writing related, but I couldn’t not include them. Not only is my awesome, supportive husband the main reason I get to be an almost-full-time writer, but my fabulous kids inspire me daily. (Plus, after a scary illness that resulted in a middle of the night ER visit last week, I’m feeling even more grateful than ever for them.)
  4. Getting an Agent (squee!) – this was the goal I’ve been working toward for more than three years now, and I was thrilled to sign with Brianne Johnson of Writers House back in May (for the story of how it happened, click here.) Bri’s been so encouraging and helpful – and her revision notes are amazing! I wouldn’t be the writer I am today without her help.
  5. My still Top Secret project – even though I can’t tell you about it yet, I can say I’m grateful for the opportunity to work on it. With any luck, I’ll be able to share that news soon. Really soon. (So stay tuned.)

And that’s it, the five writing-related things I’m most grateful for this year. What about you? What are you thankful for? Share your list in the comments.

Writer @k_callard shares what’s she’s thankful for over on her blog. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-dz (Click to tweet)

What are you thankful for? Writer @k_callard wants to know. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-dz (Click to tweet)

2 thoughts on “Feeling Thankful

  1. I heartily agree, health is the number one thing I am thankful for! I hope to say, one day soon, that I’m thankful for having an agent for my completed YA novel, but until then I have a full-time job and a family I’m thankful for. Thanks K. for sharing your thoughts on this Thanksgiving day and please keep up your encouraging posts! We all need them,

    1. Thanks for sharing, Susan. I think health is one of those sneaky things that you don’t realize how happy you are to have it, until you lose it. Happy Thanksgiving, if you’re celebrating!

Leave a Reply

