Short and Sweet

Ella third birthday 094 (2)

All right folks, I’m still on deadline, so I’m keeping this post short. And speaking of short…

Sunday marks the start of NaNoWriMo – or National Novel Writing Month. I’ve participated (and won) two years – both the MG Fantasy that’s on sub and the YA Contemporary I’m revising are products of NaNo. I really missed not doing it last year (thanks to that pesky concussion), but unfortunately I have so much on my plate right now, I’m going to have to miss out this year as well.

But the good news is I’ve found something to do in what little time I have available: PiBoIdMo (aka Picture Book Idea Month – seriously, you’d think a bunch of people who use words for a living could come up with better acronyms).

PiBoIdMo is the brainchild of Picture Book Writer Tara Lazar, and it’s pretty much self-explanatory. Come up with one picture book idea a day for the month of November. Ideas can include a character, a book title, a situation, any kernel that you might be able to turn into a picture book manuscript. Have questions? Check out the PiBoIdMo FAQs.

I doubt I’ll win, but any story ideas will be an advancement on where I am now. So, hopefully, I’ll have something to write about once I get some time again.

What about you? Are you doing any writing challenges in November? Have you done them before? Tell me about it in the comments.

#PiBoIdMo or #NaNoWriMo – Which writing challenge are you up for? @k_callard wants to know. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-cX (Click to Tweet)

What’s your favorite #PiBoIdMo or #NaNoWriMo story? @k_callard wants to know. http://wp.me/p4iSYz-cX (Click to Tweet)

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

