September Check-In

Fondant picnic blanket
Fondant picnic blanket

All right, the summer is (almost) over, so I thought I’d check in on my public to-do list and see how I fared.

(Making my goals public is a great way of forcing me to actually, you know, *do* them.)

  1. One blog post a week – If you’ve been following the blog, then you know I managed this – even finding time to run the super-successful Logline Critique (thank you again to everyone who participated and made it such a great event). Not only that, but I already have my post topics for the next few weeks. Yay!
  2.  Rejoin my online crit group – Sadly, I did not get around to this. Summer filled up fast, and entertaining the kids took more work than expected. But I’m hoping to get back in the critiquing swing after Halloween – even better, I’ll get to meet a few of my online crit group members at the CANSCAIP PYI conference in November!
  3. Expand my social media presence – Another yes! I was pretty regular on Twitter over the summer, and exceeded my goal by about 90 followers. (Woohoo! Big thanks if you’re one of my new followers – if not, what are you waiting for? Come join the fun at @k_callard.) I’m also pretty sure I managed at least one post a week on other people’s blogs (although I didn’t keep precise track).
  4. Start revising my YA – I managed to get about one third of the way through the ms with the major crits I’ve been working on, but then another project jumped in and took over, so the rest is going to have to wait until after Halloween.
  5. Write at least 1 new PB – Believe it or not, I actually managed this one right at the stat of the summer (thanks to my awesome mother-in-law’s child-entertaining services). Of course I haven’t had a chance to tackle revisions, or write (or even come up) any others, but I *did* get the one done…

So, four out of five isn’t too shabby. What about you? Did you manage to complete your summer goals? Let me know in the comments.

4 thoughts on “September Check-In

  1. Nice work. I’m late to the party here, but your post prompted me to reflect on my own writing summer. Here were/are my goals, more or less. (Some of our goals are similar.)

    1. Start a blog – Yes.
    2. Update said blog three times a week – Yes.
    3. Write a minimum of 2,000 words a day on the novel – Yes.
    4. Expand social media presence – Yes-ish. I’m doing okay with Facebook and Twitter, but I still can’t decide if Tumblr and Pinterest are worth the effort.
    5. Write or submit one short story a week – Nope. I’m getting one written/submitted about every two weeks.

    So, we’ll call that 3.5 out of 5. Not too bad.

    1. Congrats on getting so much done!

      I’m with you about social media – I do pretty well on Twitter, and plan to start a FB Author page once I have a book deal to announce, but I’m with you on the other two. I may have to start Pinterest for a project I’m working on, but I’m worried about losing all my time to it. I’m still not really sure what Tumblr even is. On the other hand, I’ve heard it’s better to do one or two social media outlets really well than to spread yourself too thin over a bunch and just keep repeating the same info, so maybe we’re not doing too badly 😀

      And I’m super-impressed by the writing and submitting a short story every two weeks, even if that’s lower than your goal!

Leave a Reply

