Birthday Musings

ConcussionDays 071

That’s right, it was my birthday last week.

As I marked the passing of another year, I started thinking about where I’d hoped to be in my career by now, where I am, and where I’d like to be by my next birthday.

This year has been a big one for my writing. I got an agent – who has been amazing helping me with revising (Hi, Bri!), and I got back on the computer, and back writing, after last year’s concussion.

Also, this is my last birthday as a full-time mom. When the boys start school in September, I will officially become an almost-full-time writer/part-time mom (since staying at home means we don’t have to pay $60/day for after-school care for the three kids – not counting holidays, PA Days, etc., plus the time I’d have to take off for sick days – I don’t have to earn much from writing to make this a financially sound plan).

Of course, I’d hoped to have a book contract by now, but I knew a few weeks into the concussion that wasn’t going to happen by this birthday. And I’m fine with that (mostly).  However, if I don’t get a book contract by my next birthday, I may have to go out and actually get a (gasp!) real job. But I’m not going to think about that right now.

I won’t lie, my concussion set my career plans back, but I’m working on recovering, and trying to get my career back on track. With any luck, I’ll be able to achieve my biggest birthday wish: having a book in print by the time I hit the big 4-0 (which is only a few years away).

What about you? How is your career/writing life shaping up compared to your goals? Tell me about it in the comments.

P.S. For anyone who is wondering, I finally picked names for my geeks: Dan, Wes, and Levi. Yes, two of those are three letters long, but I also ended up changing my MC’s name to a two-letter name (her new storyline changed her character, hence the new name).

 

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

