Goal!

IMG_1434 (2)

Ok, not that kind of goal. Today I’m posting about writing goals. A couple of weeks ago at my local Society for Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (aka SCBWI) get-together we worked on setting goals for ourselves, and our co-ordinator (the lovely and talented Katherine Battersby) said something that stuck with me: Keep your goals within your control.

That means, while long-term goals of getting an agent, or a book contract, or being the next Robert Munsch, sound good, they all rely on someone else to achieve them. Those goals are important, as far as knowing what you want in your career, but they’re also out of your control. So instead, Katherine urged us to pick goals we could control, like querying a certain number of agents, or submitting to publishers, etc.

Of course, I, of all people, know that even goals that should be within my own control can be derailed (you know, like by hitting your head and not being able to use the computer for eight months, just as a random example).  And that’s when you need to re-assess and change your goals to something inside your ability and control.

So, I’ve decided to make a list of my short-term goals. These are things I’d like to accomplish within the next two months or so (some have earlier deadlines than others), and goals which I should be able to achieve even with limited computer time. I’ll check back in at the start of May to let you how I did on my list.

1. Continue to write one blog post each week.

2. Work on revising my MG Fantasy.

3. Perfect the 250-word synopsis for my YA Contemporary draft.

4. Name my YA Contemporary draft (my working titles just aren’t, well…working).

5. Apply for a SCBWI Work-in-Progress Grant (for that YA Contemporary draft).

6. Decide which manuscripts to submit for the various levels of critique at the Montreal SCBWI Conference at the end of May. (Watch for an upcoming post on this topic.)

So there you have it, my short-term goals. Do you have any goals you’d like to share? Tell me about them in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Goal!

Leave a Reply

