Forget Diamonds…

IMG_1270 (3)

…for the past eight months, sunglasses have been this girl’s best friend. But sunshine and blogging are just two of the many things that have been inducing crushing migraines since I got my concussion. I give you, in no particular order, my list of

Things I Couldn’t Do With a Concussion:

1. Go on the computer – that’s right, no email, blogging, social media, or (gasp!) writing. My amazing husband has been reading important emails to me, but other than that, I’ve been completely cut off.

2. Write (on paper) – for a while I couldn’t even handle making a shopping list. Eventually I was able to crit existing work in paper form, but writing new material has been beyond me.

3. Read – this has been one of the hardest for me. I looked into audio books, but without a portable cd player, my only option was mp3 format, which of course, requires the use of a computer. Now that I’m finally allowed some screen time, I plan on trying them out.

4. Watch TV – this one wouldn’t have been too bad if I’d been able to do any of the things listed above.

5. Go anywhere, anytime, without my sunglasses and hat – that’s right, I wear my sunglasses at night. Seriously, though, it wasn’t just daylight that bothered my head, it was any bright light. Needless to say, I got a lot of “traveling incognito” comments.

6. Dance – Not that I do this much any more, but I had to drop out of a Bollywood class I was really looking forward to because even a slow twirl made me nauseous.

7. Exercise of any kind – It wasn’t just twirling that hurt my head, any kind of running, jumping, swimming, etc. was out of the question.

8. Go to a busy store – Trying to navigate through a sea of people was yet another thing that made my head spin.

9. Go to a concert/play/show/movie – The Bare Naked Ladies were playing in town, on my birthday, and I had to miss it. Talk about unfair.

10. Query – My husband helped me send out a few 12×12 submissions and some requested material, but querying has pretty much slowed to a halt.

11. Think – Seriously, thinking hard literally hurt my brain.

12. Remember things – I’ve always had an exceptional memory, but these days I’m lucky if I can remember my own phone number.

13. Do crafts, puzzles, or coloring with my kids – which led to number 14:

14. Handle my kids’ screaming (or any other loud noise) – I think I’ve worn my earplugs almost as often as my sunglasses.

15. Sort socks – This is a silly one, to be sure, but there was something about scanning through the piles and trying to process matches that just broke my brain.

16. Decorate cakes – Any of you that follow this blog know that cake decorating is my main (non-writing) hobby. This year was the first time in four years that I missed the Threadcakes competition. (You can see my previous entries here)

I bet you’re wondering what that left me with. Well, here is the (much shorter) list of

Things I Could Do:

1. Sleep – My brain needed time to heal, so I spent way too much time snoozing in bed.

2. Clean – My house has never been cleaner. It’s kind of sad, actually.

3. Cook – You know, so long as I didn’t need a recipe.

4. Listen to TV – I’ve never really been one for radio, so instead I’ve been sitting blindfolded through hours of stand-up comedy, and old episodes of Buffy and Angel (which I’ve watched enough times to be able to follow blind). My latest discovery has been the excellent descriptive video on CSI re-runs.

As you can guess, it’s been a pretty tedious eight months. But it hasn’t been all bad. Tune in next week to learn What My Concussion Taught Me.

(Curious about how I got my concussion? Check out my post here.)

3 thoughts on “Forget Diamonds…

Leave a Reply

