Lost Treasure

Image

Frustration. That’s what started everything this week.

On Monday, I sat down to try and fix the voice problems in my MG Contemporary WIP. I switched from first-person POV to third. Then I tried writing a new scene – but my MC *still* kept coming off too old.

Fine. I put it aside and sat down with PB #1. I cut and revised and fiddled and…still didn’t pull it under 1000 words. Arrgh!

I needed a break from those stories.

But I was annoyed. Here I was with time to write – and nothing to work on. With summer fast approaching, there was no way I was going to squander my precious writing time. So I decided to go back and check out the novel I wrote for NaNo last year.

Didn’t know I’d written another novel, did you? Well, that’s because, it was something new for me. Just before NaNo last year, I got a great idea for a YA Contemporary. So, in November, I sat down and wrote just over 50,000 words on it. But when the month was over, I wasn’t sure about it. See, I’ve never been much of a contemporary fiction reader – give me a mystery or a fantasy any day – so I put my YA away to cool off. And then, never picked it back up.

Until Monday.

I opened it up and started reading, and I couldn’t put it down. And when I finally got to the part where I’d stopped writing, I actually yelled in frustration because I wanted to know how it ended. (Yes, I technically *know* how it ends, but it’s not the same as reading it as it unfolds.)

So, this is my new project. I’ve moved my MG Contemp and PB#1 to the back burner for now, to simmer and stew while I work on this YA. I’ve been revising all week, and I think I may be able to put my first chapter up for my online crit partners next week, while I finish writing the ending.

I’m anxious to see what other people (especially those with more experience with YA) think of it. And, even if the story idea turns out to be bad/overused/unmarketable, at least it all counts as more writing experience.

What about you? Do you go back and re-read abandoned projects, looking for treasure? Tell me about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

