Time to Cool Off

Cool Off

I did it! Somehow, despite the distractions of The Writer’s Voice contest and sick kids (again!), I finished the first draft of my MG Fantasy WIP!

YAY!

This is my fastest first draft ever (well, not counting picture books), and now that I’m done, it’s time to cool off.

Nope, I don’t mean taking a break from writing – just a break from this project. This manuscript is going into a virtual box for the next month, so I can look at it with fresh eyes and decide if it’s worth revising. (I think it is.)

In the meantime, I’m going to start on my next novel. I’m still in the planning stages, but my new goal is to get as much of the first draft written as possible before school ends. Not sure how that’s going to work without another writing retreat, but that’s my goal anyway. This new story is going to be a Contemporary MG – which also means I need to dust off my library card and start reading some comp titles.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, time is short and I need to go do some character interviews and a story board.

What about you? Do you give yourself time to cool off or jump right into revisions? Tell me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

