All Work and No Writing…

…Makes Kaye a Cranky Dragon

Image

As I mentioned last week, this month has been a rough one for me. Between being sick and caring for sick kids, planning birthday parties, baking cakes, plus all my other regular chores like feeding the family, doing laundry and dishes, sorting through clothes (all three kids just went up a size), and keeping the house one step up from disgusting, I feel like all my writing time has been eaten up by mom duties.

Sure, I’ve squeezed in time to query and enter a contest or two, as well as do critiques, but I haven’t done any writing.

And it’s made me cranky.

There’s nothing that can replace the sheer joy I feel when I’m writing. The thrill of creating new worlds. The delight of molding characters. The satisfaction of figuring out plot problems. These are the things that make me realize I’m meant to be a writer. Because I don’t feel right, if I’m not writing.

So, I’ve made a promise to myself. For the rest of the month, I’m going to try and put writing first. I’m aiming to add 1,000 words to my WIP (the one I haven’t touched since my mini writing retreat at the end of March) and I need to draft a PB for 12×12.

Hopefully by my next post, I’ll be back to feeling like my normal, writerly self. What about you? Do you feel different when you skip writing? Tell me about it in the comments.

2 comments

  1. I’ve been in a slump this month. I thought it would be a productive month, but I didn’t even get a draft done. Phooey. I must refocus my promises to write on the fun I feel writing, as you describe, and not on the ‘drudgery’ of meeting a deadline or goal. Thanks for sharing.

    • So many people think writing PBs is easy, but it took me the whole month to squeak out a very rough draft. I’m definitely feeling better since I jumped back into my WIP MG novel. Hope you can find the time to write this month!

Leave a Reply

