Look, Ma, No Pants!

Image

(That’s supposed to be an underpants cake pop. Not exactly my best work. :D)

Well, I promised an update on how my writing weekend went, so here you go: I wrote 11,500 words! I’m aiming for about 25,000 total, so it means I wrote almost half my first draft in one weekend! The story is really starting to take shape, and I’m thrilled with how it’s looking.

And I owe it all to…gasp…plotting.

I know, crazy, right?

I used to consider myself a pantser. I wouldn’t think much farther ahead than the next scene (and maybe a vague idea of where the story was going to end). But now? Well, plotting may have just won me over.

I actually went so far this time as to make myself a storyboard. I filled out a bunch of post-its with things I wanted to happen in the story, and I laid them out on a piece of Bristol board, rearranging them until they made sense. Then I glued them down, added a few extra notes, and I was ready to write.

It was liberating. I didn’t have to worry about what came next – it was there on my storyboard. All I had to do was figure out how to get there.

This is the fastest I’ve ever written a draft. Oh, I know there’s still a lot of revision ahead, but after how much I struggled with my abandoned WIP, this speed-writing is freeing.

So, it looks like I’ve been converted to plotting. What about you? What’s your writing style? Pantser? Plotter? Plotser? Tell me about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

