Everything’s Coming Up Roses

Image

As you may have realized from last week’s post, I’ve been feeling a bit down lately. Ever since I ditched my fairy tale WIP, I’ve been having trouble getting motivated to write. (Ok, that’s a lie, I wasn’t motivated to write it for the last month or so either, that’s why I ditched it.) It’s been a long winter, and cabin fever has set in – without even the promise of a conference this spring to look forward to. On top of that, I’ve been mired in query-limbo, waiting for responses (and deadlines for non-responders). Basically, I’ve been feeling blah.

But this week that all changed.

It all started when I posted my fractured fairy tale for Susanna Leonard Hill’s contest. I got so many wonderful comments on my little story that I couldn’t help but smile. They made me feel good about myself as a writer again. Even better, I woke up this morning and found out I’d made the list of finalists! Go here to read the top ten stories and vote for your favorite (there are so many good ones, I had a hard time choosing where to cast my vote). Voting is open until Sunday, and winners will be announced Monday.

Also this week, I decided to pitch one of my PBs during #pitmad (a Twitter pitch party for agents and editors). I didn’t get any favorites from agents (I’ve heard there wasn’t a lot of PB love) but I did get a bunch of retweets from other writers who liked my pitch enough to promote it. My confidence rose again.

As if that wasn’t enough, my husband (in a tremendous bid for the husband-of-the-year award) is taking charge of the kids and the house this weekend, while I disappear to a friend’s empty place for my own personal mini writing retreat.

Squee!

I’ve spent this week making sure I have every aspect plotted out for my new WIP. Plus, I’ve fleshed out a couple of ideas for PBs in case I need to switch gears. My goal for the weekend is to write 10,000 words (more would be amazing, but I don’t want to cripple myself with too large a goal).

I also have a brand new purely-for-pleasure book to read.

I’m so excited. I can’t wait to come back next week and fill you all in on how the weekend went.

How did your week go? Any good news to share? Did you get some PB love during #pitmad? Tell me about it in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Everything’s Coming Up Roses

  1. There were just TOO many entries in Susanna’s lovely contest to read them all. I don’t know HOW she does it! But I read the finalist entries and loved yours. So I’ve popped over to Twitter and become a new follower. Great job on your story, and I’m rooting for you in the voting!

Leave a Reply

