A Monster Ate My WIP

Image

Ok, not really.

I wrote last week about how, having reached the halfway point of my WIP (MG fairy tale retelling), I was dragging the words out against their will. Well, when I went back and applied my 6 Tips to Beat the Monster in the Middle – it turned out that number 6 was all I needed. (Although, number 1, the break, may have helped give me the clarity I needed to find it.)

My poor manuscript was just too maimed to salvage. I outlined this draft more than any other I’ve written so far – I drew maps, made family trees, sketched out a castle blueprint – but it wasn’t enough. There were plot holes you could drive a pumpkin carriage through, and I would have needed a magic wand to fix them without starting over from scratch.

And then there’s the fact that fairy tale retellings seem to be on every agent’s wish list right now – which means by the time I finish this book and all its revisions, it’ll likely be a hard sell.

So I’m moving on.

I have a shiny new idea for an early MG, and I’ve spent the last week (March Break) outlining it. I have character interviews, a plot graph, and an itch to start writing.

On top of that, you may have noticed by the shiny new badge on my site that I made my ‘conference’ decision and opted for Julie Hedlund’s 12×12 Picture Book Challenge. I’ve written three PB drafts so far, and am working on revisions on all of them. Sure, I’m a little sad that I won’t get to travel, but I’m loving the inspiration and inclination I’ve gained so far.

The monster may have eaten my WIP, but he did me a favor.

What about you? Ever abandoned a book before? Tell me all about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

