14:14 Blog Challenge Day 7

Here we are, one week into the 14:14 Blog Challenge. Today will mark my 7th Picture Book analyzed according to Christie Wright Wild‘s Top 10 Story Elements for Picture Books. Hope you’re all enjoying taking a look at the books as much as I am. I know my “to-read” list has become considerably longer in the past week (and is set to grow even more next week). I’ll try to put up a regular post next Friday, after the challenge is over. Until then, you can just keep checking out all the wonderful PBs I’ve read.

Image

Title: I’m Bored
Author: Michael Ian Black
Illustrator: Debbie Ridpath Ohi
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Year: 2012
Word Count: 251

Summary: The little girl is bored, but when a potato accuses kids of being boring she sets out to prove how exciting being a kid can be.

Once again, I’m going to be looking at Character. The little girl in this book is so alive, so likeable, and so believably childlike, that it wasn’t until I sat down to write this that I realized she doesn’t have a name.

She starts the book complaining about how bored she is. Ohi’s “Peanuts”-esque illustrations, as cartoonish as they are, really capture the postures of boredom. Along with Black’s text (“Bored. Blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.”) the girl epitomizes boredom. I could really see myself as a child in this part. (I was bored a lot.)

When the potato she meets accuses her – and all kids – of being boring, she becomes active and sets out to prove him wrong. In doing so, she realizes just how exciting life as a kid is, thus solving her own problem. – Don’t worry if you think I’m giving away the ending, there’s still a delicious twist at the end, that you’ll have to read the book to see.

Even though my kids are a bit young for the concept of boredom, they love watching the girl come up with all the fun things kids can do.

Leave a Reply

