14:14 Blog Challenge Day 2

Image

Title: The Pigeon Wants a Puppy!
Author & Illustrator: Mo Willems
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Year: 2008
Word Count: 154

Summary: The Pigeon really, really wants a puppy. But he hasn’t exactly thought the whole thing through.

I would have to say that the most important feature of the Pigeon books is Character. In fact, he’s such a great character he’s spawned a whole slew of other books, including The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog, The Pigeon Has Feelings,Too, and the one that started it all: Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus (which is just a shade too old to be included in 14:14).

With every wheedling attempt and plea to get a puppy, (“You don’t want me to be happy, do you?”) the Pigeon becomes more and more lovable. Parents will hear their children in the Pigeon’s words, and my kids love that the Pigeon sounds like them.

The Pigeon is definitely an active character, as most of the book revolves around him trying harder and harder to convince the reader to let him have a puppy.

Without giving away the ending, it’s hard to discuss how the Pigeon solves his own problem, but suffice it to say, he does, in the most Pigeon-like (and childlike) way possible.

The Pigeon is one of my family’s favorite characters. My sister-in-law even made my daughter a pigeon toy for her birthday last year. Check it out. And then go check out the Pigeon books, if you haven’t already.

Image

3 thoughts on “14:14 Blog Challenge Day 2

  1. I am embarrassed to say I’ve never had a Pigeon book in my hand, but have read about Mo Willem’s work for years. Got to hunt this down. This is, I know, a classic character now, and I need to understand and find out why. Thanks for this review, K.

  2. You absolutely need to check out the Pigeon. I reccomend “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus” – my personal favorite. I’ll be reviewing another Pigeon book next week, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

