14:14 Blog Challenge Day 1

For the next two weeks I’m going to be participating in Christie Wright Wild’s 14:14 blog challenge. Every day for the next fourteen days I am going to examine one of Christie’s Top 10 Story Elements for Picture Books in a different book. The idea is to look at what makes these books great, and to introduce people to picture books they may not be familiar with.

Here we go:

Image

Title: Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes
Author: Eric Litwin (aka Mr. Eric)
Illustrator: James Dean
Publisher: Scholastic
Year: 2008
Word Count: 272

Summary: Pete the Cat loves his white shoes, but it’s a dirty world out there. Fortunately, nothing he steps in can change the way Pete feels about his shoes.

This is a great book to study Patterns. It is all about repetition. The story is told in three-page cycles:

1) Pete loves the color of his shoes.

2) He loves them so much he sings a song about them.

3) “Oh no!” Something happens to change the color of his shoes. But does Pete get upset? “Goodness no!” He just keeps “walking along and singing his song.”

This book is also a great example of the Rule of Three. The cycles are three pages long, the songs are three lines long, and Pete’s shoes change color three times before turning back to their original white (along with a twist).

My two-year-old, barely-verbal sons love this book. The repetition lets them chime in with the words they know, and they really feel like they’re part of the story.

There are a bunch of other Pete the Cat books as well, including Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes and (another I’m planning on reviewing as part of 14:14) Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons.

4 comments

  1. Hi, K! You did an awesome job with this. And thanks for the links back to my blog and the Top 10 Elements. Glad to see you included the word count. Thanks. 272 words is quite a feat! My shortest ms is 400 words. My post was about patterns, too! I escpecially enjoyed reading the quotes in point 3) you made. Thanks so much for sharing! Can’t wait to see what else you’ll share. See you tomorrow!

  2. Thanks, Christie. I have to admit I generally prefer longer PBs (600-800 words – where most of mine land), but I can’t resist some of the shorter ones like the Pete the Cat and the Pigeon books.

  3. now I am looking up rule of threes and patterns again so I can do a better job on mine. I really appreciate these reviews and analysis and I get to see books I may never have heard of otherwise. Thank you

Leave a Reply

